Are you listening?

Or, I guess you could say: Who or what are you listening to?

When you’re making choices and decisions in your life, from the tiniest, seemingly most insignificant ones to the biggest, life-altering ones, how do you do it?

Do you ask your friends or family what to do? Do you make pro and con lists? Do you weigh all the possibilities and probable outcomes? Do you toss a coin or consult the Tarot?

Believe it or not, the best answer doesn’t lie in any of these things, or in anything outside ourselves, for that matter. The best answer is right where we are, in thought. But it’s not in disturbed, worried, anxious thought. It’s in that calm, peaceful thought that we discover to be ours when we get really, really quiet and just listen.

There’s a line in the book of Job in the Bible that I think really nails this state of mind: “…there is a spirit in man: and the inspiration of the Almighty giveth them understanding.” (Job 32:8) This isn’t something outside of us—it’s right here, right now, and is always accessible.

Sometimes when we listen, it seems that nothing comes to us. But it does—we just don’t hear it yet. It may come a little later, but we’ll recognize it because it will give us a sense of peace and confidence about which way to turn, what to do. Other times we’ll get an immediate “aha” feeling and we’ll feel sure that it’s the right solution.

Once in a while we’ll feel sure that we’ve listened to this intuition and have followed it, but things didn’t work out the way we had wished. When this happens—and it happens to all of us—don’t think you’ve made a mistake. Even if what you decided or did feels all wrong, just keep listening. You may be led to turn in a different direction, and when you do you’ll discover that you learned an important lesson from your “mistake” and that without this lesson, your next, better decision wouldn’t have been possible.

It’s all about being receptive to that inner voice, and being persistent in listening to it.

15 Comments

Filed under individuality, spiritual, Uncategorized

15 responses to “Are you listening?

  1. Kay Keelor

    Yep, it’s all about listening to God. My day goes much better when I turn to God for every thought and action. That’s not to say that I’m perfect at it, but I sure do try! I love your blog, Amy.

  2. Thanks, Kay! I’m right there with ya, trying every day! 😀
    Glad you like my blog!

  3. breakoutofthemold

    I often use this quote from Job with my girls. Instead of “man” I use their names and know that the inspiration of the Almighty gives her wisdom and understanding as she enjoys her day. Thanks, Amy!

  4. Thanks, Amy! This is perfect for me today. Have been needing to make a decision between two conflicting things, and have done my best to listen to my inner voice of Truth on it. I have run things by family, but have also tried to be clear that the answer was at hand in my thought and heart and not in what seemed more logical or reasonable humanly or whatever. I find if there is a continued sense of conflict in my thought about doing something, it probably isn’t the thing to do, no matter how right it may seem humanly. What isn’t just right, is often wrong. Still praying on this, but thanks for being so timely, Amy!

    • Who knew? I’m glad it came at just the right time for you, Laura. And you’re so right about that continuing sense of conflict (or uneasiness or unrest) being and indication that more listening is needed!

  5. You are right Amy – we are on the same track!

  6. Dennis R.

    I was part of the Charismatic movement for many years. We had an expression “Being led of the Spirit.” Sometimes we got it wrong, but many times it turned out to be just the right thing at the right time.

  7. I love that expression, “Being led of the Spirit.”

  8. John

    …to read what’s written on your heart…
    and know that Truth, Love, has done the writing!

  9. Constanza

    I completly agree with the idea of the post and comments… there is no simple right and wrong for our desitions in life… It will always be relative on how much receptive to that inner voice we have been.

  10. Constanza

    I forgot to clic on Notify me of follow-up comments via email on my previous comment

Leave a Reply

