Nighttime wakefulness

Every couple of weeks or so I have a night when I don’t seem to be able to get to sleep. Or I sleep for a little while and then wake up and can’t get back to sleep. My mind starts racing, thinking of a lot of different things, and the more I think, the more energized I become.

I refuse to call this “insomnia.” First of all because it sounds too clinical, as if it were something abnormal or wrong, and second of all, because I actually enjoy these nights. I never stay awake all night long—it’s usually only for around a couple of hours, but I make the most of that time.
My usual routine is to turn the light on, get out of bed, go to the kitchen and make a glass of chocolate milk with peppermint flavoring. Then I get my laptop and sit on my bed. That’s what I’m doing right now as I write this.

Often during these nocturnal interludes I get new ideas about a variety of things—maybe something to write in my blog (like I’m doing now), or an idea for a musical composition. Sometimes I’m inspired to take a closer look at the way I’ve been thinking about or doing certain things in my day-to-day life and come up with a better solution.

When i first started having these sleepless episodes awhile back, I was disturbed by them. I’d try to force myself to lie still in bed in the dark, but I’d always end up getting up because it would drive me nuts. Then I asked myself one night: Why are you getting all bent out of shape just because you don’t feel like sleeping? Who cares? So I decided to enjoy these times instead.

OK, I have to admit that I might not be so cavalier about it if I had to drag myself out of bed at 7 a.m. and commute to a job. But I do all my work at home, so it’s not a problem. And I’ve also discovered that I’m not able to sleep all that late the following morning, so things adjust themselves naturally by the next night.

All righty, I’m off to check Facebook, my email, and a couple of websites. Sweet dreams, everyone!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Nighttime wakefulness

  1. Libby

    That happens to me too! Last night the elderly dog woke me several times in some distress. He’s ok. Then I had to rise at 6:30 to be at work. I usually sleep well but I do what you do when I don’t.

  2. I think it’s actually more restful than trying to force yourself to get to sleep.

  3. Constanza

    I was calling it “insomnia” but I always enjoy these times.
    “Nighttime wakefulness” sounds perfect ¡Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

