Rejoice!

Wow…what a concept.

It came to me yesterday. Rejoice. Just rejoice! “About what?” I thought.

No, no, never mind that. Just rejoice.

I took a look in the Bible, because I know that word is in there more than once and guess what I found? The word rejoice is mentioned 224 times in the King James Bible, and quite a few times as a command.

“Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all the earth: make a loud noise, and rejoice, and sing praise.” (Psalms 98:4)

Note that it doesn’t say rejoice because you just won the lottery or rejoice because you’re the best looking dude on the block.

It also doesn’t say anything about NOT rejoicing if you’re in some kind of a mess, whether it’s about your finances, your relationships, or your health or whatever.

No. Just rejoice.

I thought I’d give it a try. I said to myself all day long, “I’m rejoicing right now! I love to rejoice! Wow, it feels so good to rejoice!” I did this when I was feeling good, not so good, and I even did it almost stubbornly when human reason screamed there was no reason to rejoice.

And you know what happened? After awhile, it became so natural that it took on a life of its own. It felt as if the rejoicing was me, not me doing the rejoicing. So I thought: this is a law. It’s got a whole energy and life of its own. By the end of the day I was feeling really happy, downright joyful in fact.

I recommend rejoicing. You don’t have to be a Christian to rejoice. You can even be an atheist and still rejoice. A law is a law, after all. Use it! Enjoy it! Rejoice!

8 Comments

Filed under spiritual

8 responses to “Rejoice!

  1. Dean Wolfe

    This is awesome. I was noticing just this morning that so many hymns say praise Him. Is this the same thing?
    Dean

  2. Libby Unwin

    ALLLELUIA!!

  3. ~Ro

    Gracias Amy Rejoicing is absolutely necessary !

  4. Love this, and, not surprisingly, I’ve recently been working with very similar ideas. Choose joy! It is really simply choosing to do what comes naturallyand is honest because it is, as you said, supported by the law of Truth! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

