Sticking to one thing…

“She’s a musician and composer, a writer and editor, and she also works as a Portuguese to English translator — wow, she’s really a multitasker!”

Well, yes and no.

It’s true that I do all those things, but in my heart of hearts I really like to do one thing at a time. To concentrate on one thing and give it all the juice I’ve got.

Unfortunately, that isn’t always possible for me because of pesky little matters like having to buy food and pay the rent. But somehow I still manage to lean more heavily towards one thing when I really have a strong urge to do it, even if it’s not the thing that brings home the bacon.

Right now that thing is my book. Everything else has become sort of back burner, although I do have to turn those burners on at least for awhile every day and not just leave them dormant. But I’ve got the gut desire to finish this book and so that’s the thing that calls to me every morning: “Here I am! I’m not done yet! Get busy!”

So I do.

2 Comments

Filed under individuality, work

2 responses to “Sticking to one thing…

  1. Gordon Myers

    I think that’s a very common experience, Amy! I certainly feel the same way, like I have a large array of varied interests, but I really go through phases where I’m only focused on one of them at a time.

    For instance, I might get on a music kick for awhile. And then a writing kick. And then a jogging kick. And so on.

    Have you ever seen the “Specialization is for insects” quotation by Robert Heinlein? If not, Google it!

    • Ha! I just Googled it. Good to find out I’m not an insect! 😀
      I have to say, though, that I sometimes try doing a little of each thing every day and that doesn’t seem to work all that well for me. It’s OK, in a sense, because you end the day with a certain satisfaction that you covered all these things, but it’s not as good as grabbing something and really digging into it.

Leave a Reply

