“Will she ever finish that darned book?”

I’ve been working on my book for a long time.

Well, I can’t say I’ve been working continuously…

To tell the truth, there have been some gaps…

To be perfectly honest, YEARS have gone by and I’m still working on it. And there have been some HUGE gaps. But a few months ago I finally got the fire in my belly and went through everything I’d written in my infrequent moments of lucidity and engagement.

And then I finally attacked the really tough part: the final chapter.

What final chapter? I’m still here on earth and there’s no final chapter in sight. What do you do to bring the story of your life to a close when it’s still going on full tilt and there are so many things to be resolved and lived?

This is a question no one can answer for me.

Anyway, here’s the deal. I’ve now written a major part of the last chapter of my book, but I’m just waiting for a few little (or maybe not so little) things in my life to reach some kind of closure before I can actually say, “OK, it’s DONE!!”

I hope you’ll all hang in there with me. I’ve given myself a vague “by-the-end-of-the-year” deadline. Of course I didn’t say which year, but I’m hoping it’ll be 2012.

And even if everything isn’t all wrapped up and all the dots connected by then, I could always write a sequel later on, right? Right? RIGHT???

12 Comments

Filed under the book

12 responses to ““Will she ever finish that darned book?”

  1. Did you ever watch, “Under the Tuscan Sun?” My sense was that the end of the movie was actually the beginning of a new chapter of the lead character’s life. Maybe you can approach “the end” that way.

  2. I feel like I’m ALWAYS waiting for closure. I think it’s human nature to always feel there is something that will be the “piece de resistance,” that will give us that “amen!” that brings a sense that we can finally just rest on our laurels. I know the book will find its natural close at the right time. I try to find some peace in the fact that right now, we ARE at the summit, in Truth, and an “amen” is always appropriate!

    My book sat for a long time unfinished. I finally picked it up again and wrapped it up and printed it, and immediately thought of a dozen more chapters! Oh, well! 😉

    • I know! Even when I finish it I’m sure I’ll have that feeling of “but wait, there’s more!” But I know I’ll have to cut the “umbilical cord” one of these days! 😀

  3. Muriel Vasconcellos

    There comes a time when it’s more important to get it writ than to get it right.

  4. sherlock001

    Amy, I think a possible stopping point is when you realized you had to return to Brazil after living on Joy Street in Boston – which sounded like a perfect ending when you found that place. So you have a bit of a ‘twist’ after that. Just before publication, you can do an ‘epilogue’ saying how you’re doing upon return. In five years you can write the sequel!

    • Hmmmm, I’ve already written a bunch more stuff after that, but I’ll definitely think this over…maybe there are things that could be elimiated. Thanks, Vicki!

  5. Muriel Vasconcellos

    Seriously now, here’s a suggestion. Find a moment when you feel very content. For example, a day when you really feel good and are looking out over the water. Then write about your feelings of contentment. Make it a pause between your past and the rest of your life.

Leave a Reply

