A generous heart

Today I’m singing out some special praise to my cousin Libby.

I knew Libby when we were kids, because she and my other cousins used to spend summers with our family at my grandparents’ cottage on Seneca Lake in upstate New York.

Libby (L.) and her family in 1963

But then many years went by and I didn’t see Libby again. I’d heard that she worked on the racetracks with thoroughbred horses for years, but I was never in contact with her until we found each other on Facebook.

Libby works for the Salvation Army. She spends all her time helping people, people who really need her help. I’m sure it’s not always easy for her, and I bet sometimes it’s downright aggravating. But I think Libby is blessed. That’s right, she spends her life serving others and I won’t even say there’s a place waiting for her in heaven, because I believe she’s in heaven already, right here on earth.

And she’s kind to animals, too. Just thought I’d mention that.

Libby today

5 Comments

Filed under my history, Uncategorized

5 responses to “A generous heart

  1. Libby Unwin

    Thank you so much Amy. You made me cry–so many good memories–when we were kids and at the lake. Good crying by the way. Thanks.

  2. Libby Unwin

    And I absolutely LOVE the picture!! Thanks for that too!!

  3. I’m glad it was a good cry! 🙂

  4. webdevelopmentlesson4Venia

    What a wonderful way to spend a life!! Thank you Libby!!!!

Leave a Reply

