Everything is getting smaller…or disappearing altogether!

I remember when a stereo system consisted of two BIG speakers and several other fairly good-sized components. When I was a kid, a tape recorder was bigger than a breadbox. And didn’t I read somewhere that computers used to be bigger than refrigerators?

I’ve moved a lot of times in my life, I mean a LOT. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to drag around at least six large wooden boxes crates with vinyl albums. I was relieved when I could give them all away and start buying CDs (sorry, vinyl people).

And then there were the books: boxes and boxes full of heavy books to be moved every time I moved.

My first computer was a big, clunky thing, too, although not as large as a fridge.

But how things have changed! A few years ago I found myself in a situation where I had to narrow down ALL my worldly goods to fit into one large suitcase and a carry-on. I was moving by myself from the US back to Brazil.

How happy I was to be able to take several boxes of old and new photographs and scan them onto my little MacBook. I did the same with piles of papers and documents. I didn’t have to worry about CDs any more, either, because all of my music was now in mp3 format (sorry, sound freaks).

I did have to pack a few books because I didn’t (and still don’t) have an e-reader. But you can bet that will be my next purchase.

I don’t even have a TV any more. I watch everything I want/need to see on my MacBook Pro.

I totally love the diminishing of stuff. How about you?

13 Comments

Filed under technology

13 responses to “Everything is getting smaller…or disappearing altogether!

  1. breakoutofthemold

    Yes and No. Yes – I would love living a more clutter-free life and take advantage of what the electronic age offers us. However, I think it comes at a cost of connecting us historically to the past. Having records (78, 45, 33-1/3), reel-to-reel, 8-tracks, cassettes, and CDs gives us a link to our social history. It marks the passage of time. Without handwritten letters, we don’t see how beautiful penmanship was or get a sense for the time it took to pen a thoughtful letter. These days, a handwritten note is such a gift! So, while I appreciate the efficiency of diminishing stuff, I wonder what will be left for future generations to actually have to hold in their hands to learn about life in 2012.

  2. Well, this is one of the reasons I wrote this, because I know there are differing feelings and opinions about it. I guess I’m more into convenience and “living light” then I am into preserving the past, but I do believe we’ll continue to find a balance between the two.

  3. Dean Wolfe

    I just moved across the Canadian continent from the great Lakes to Vancouver Island, and we had to cut down our stuff because we pay by the pound. Sometimes it’s cheaper to sell or give away something and rebuy it. We shed a LOT of weight. Kids had to pick only their fave toys. It felt good to simplify…

  4. Laura Moliter

    Moving is always a pain, but at the same time refreshing for me. It FORCES me to pare down and I really love that feeling. I have a pretty big home now and a good amount of “stuff” although I’m not a real pack rat. But, I do often (and I mean very often) yearn for the days that I lived in a studio apartment and had just enough to be comfortable, had less to clean, and could find whatever I was looking for! I like the idea of sparseness. Clean, simple, and yet beautiful.

  5. I’m a bit of an oddball, because I LOVE to move…the entire process of it, except perhaps the bureaucracy of signing contracts, etc. (which is more complicated here than in the US). I’m living in a divided studio apartment now, and I really don’t feel the need for more space, although I’d like to move to a place on a higher floor, with a veranda!

  6. Dennis R.

    Computers used to fill a room. They had to be special air conditioner rooms because they were so sensitive. When you think about how much memory you carry on a flash drive you keep in your pocket compared to what computer capacity used to be, it is mind boggling.

  7. And also how quickly all of that has happened.

  8. Libby Unwin

    When I was doing racing I had to move every 2 or 3 months. I never unpacked and I didn’t have a lot of “stuff” either. At one point I had a VW bug into which I put all my worldly good and my dog!! those were the days!! 😀

  9. I can relate to that kind of life!

  10. awriterweavesatale

    I’m a yes and no person too. Especially when I bough each of our boys shuffles for Christmas and one already lost the dinky thing — you can’t loose a record! And I used to love record covers. The tactile. Not much left that is tactile Maybe that’s why I took up weaving when I wasn’t writing:)

  11. Yes…so much technology and so many non-tactile aspects to that! Weaving sounds like fun…I used to be a quilter.

Leave a Reply

