My Solitude

My solitude has become an art…

A delicate, graceful thing

Like a flower,

With a sweet and agreeable scent…

A precious, lustrous thing

Like a pearl,

Smooth to the touch,

White as the snow…

A cozy thing,

Like a down comforter,

Soft, warm, enveloping.

My solitude has become a friend…

A friend that the world doesn’t know,

Always here, always faithful,

An ear that always hears me,

A mouth that always says good things,

Pretty, happy, simple things…

Arms that always hold me,

Eyes that always look at me

With love and kindness…

My solitude has become a religion…

The calm presence of God,

A spirit of goodness and harmony

A light inside me and everyone,

A world without limits,

With no pain, no separation,

A life full of love and affection,

And freedom.

I stretch out my arms and fly,

Beyond the heavens,

In my solitude.

10 Comments

Filed under poetry

10 responses to “My Solitude

  1. Libby Unwin

    Beautiful..

  2. That’s wonderful, Amy. Made me tear up. I feel that, understand completely, and agree…only you said it better than I could. Thank you.

  3. Thanks so much, Laura…my wish is to reach people, so this makes me very happy.

  4. Yes, beautiful and wonderful! Blessings, Ellen

  5. Absolutely beautiful…exquisite even! Thanks for sharing.

  6. I’m so happy you liked it, Pam!

  7. It’s so important to think of solitude as “a friend’ as we all must face that friend at different times. I remember my mother always saying she enjoyed her own company, didn’t mind being alone, and I’m a lot like that. Probably too much so.

  8. I think may be a bit too much that way as well!

Leave a Reply

