The light of Christmas…all year long

OK, peeps, my Christmas lights are still up. I know, I know, I should take them down. But I don’t think I will. I think I’ll leave them up all year round. Why not? Who says Christmas lights are just for Christmas anyway?

For the past ten years or so I have been alone, or pretty much alone at Christmas. No, please put your Kleenex away, it hasn’t been like that at all. I really like the quiet of the Christmas holidays, and it’s a good time for me to contemplate what Christmas really means to me spiritually.

I have great memories of Christmases when I was a kid growing up in Connecticut. I get into it in my book a little…my mother loved to buy gifts and wrap them and make a big mystery out of everything. It was really cute. And then of course there’s the anticipation when you’re a kid, not being able to sleep and then you finally drop off from sheer exhaustion, and then you get up ridiculously early to see if Santa really did eat the cookies you left. You can’t open your presents until everyone is up, of course, so you make lots of noise to make sure they get up NOW.

Then there were the smells…the pine needles (actually cedar in our case), and the turkey dinner cooking in the kitchen. And sometimes it snowed on Christmas, and that was best of all.

Now even when I spend Christmas by myself, I still have that warm, cozy feeling of being all wrapped up in love, just as I did when I was a kid, without the trappings, wonderful as they were…except for my string of lights, of course.

2 Comments

Filed under special days

2 responses to “The light of Christmas…all year long

  1. Libby Unwin

    I like quiet Christmas too. Mom always made a big deal about it–fun when you are a kid. Nice to be quiet as an adult!

Leave a Reply

