Perspective

As a couple of commenters pointed out yesterday, we do tend to change our perspective over the years, and it seems that we’re better able to see things through other people’s eyes.

I think we’re also able to see ourselves in a new light, if we’re willing. It’s so easy to get caught up in mulling over the past and feeling regret, sometimes even painful helplessness over things that we’ve said or done. I’m not one to say “Oh, just forget the past…there’s nothing you can do about it anyway.” I think taking a thoughtful look at our past can actually help us get free of those nagging regrets.

I’ve found that writing this book is helping me to feel more compassionate toward myself and other people, both in my past and my present. When you write something down you have to deal with it. There it is on the computer screen and now you have the chance to see it from several different angles. I’ve even been able to forgive a few folks who “done me wrong” by writing my story, and myself along with them.

2 Comments

Filed under the book

2 responses to “Perspective

  1. Vicki

    Amy, I just read through all your posts up to this point. I am so delighted you are doing this, as I know your life has been so unique and interesting. Plus you are a great writer and should be putting your talent out there for all to enjoy. I am looking foward to reading more!

    Vicki

  2. Thanks, Vicki, I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

