10 Things Most Americans Don’t Know About America

Thought Catalog:

You may not agree with everything Mark Manson says, but it’s thought-provoking!

Originally posted on Thought Catalog:

Imagine you have a brother and he’s an alcoholic. He has his moments, but you keep your distance from him. You don’t mind him for the occasional family gathering or holiday. You still love him. But you don’t want to be around him.

This is how I lovingly describe my current relationship with the United States. The United States is my alcoholic brother. And although I will always love him, I don’t want to be near him at the moment.

I know that’s harsh, but I really feel my home country is not in a good place these days. That’s not a socio-economic statement (although that’s on the decline as well), but rather a cultural one.

I realize it’s going to be impossible to write sentences like the ones above without coming across as a raging prick, so let me try to soften the blow to my American readers with…

View original 3,258 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

